
Article 8.-Roofing Contractors 

16-8-1. Definitions. For the purpose of the act and this article, each of the following terms shall 

have the meaning specified in this regulation: 

(a) "Act" means Kansas roofing registration act. 

(b) "Applicant" means a person applying for an initial registration certificate or the 

renewal or reinstatement of a registration certificate. 

(c) "Conviction" shall include the following, whether the penalty has been imposed, 

reduced, or suspended, unless the conviction has been legally expunged: 

(1) An unvacated adjudication of guilt; 

(2) a plea of guilty or nolo contendere accepted by the court; and 

(3) a deferred judgment, diversion, or probation agreement. 

(d) "Direct supervision" means that the registered roofing contractor is overseeing the 

person being supervised and is physically present at the work site. 

(e) "Roofing material" shall include cedar, cement, metal, and composition shingles; 

wood shakes; cement and clay tile; built-up roofing; single-ply roofing materials; fluid-type 

roofing systems; spray urethane foam; asphalt; protective or reflective materials; deck coatings; 

sheet metal; and tar. 

(f) "Roofing services" shall include the following services on any type of roof: 

(1) Installation or repair of any roofing material; 

(2) installation or repair of roof sheathing; 
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(3) installation, application, or repair of roof dampproofing or weatherproofing, roof 

insulation panels, or other roof insulation systems, including work incidental to the installation or 

application; 

(4) repair of structural damage to an existing roof-support system; and 

(5) installation or repair of skylights. 

(g) "Valid registration certificate" means a roofing contractor registration certificate 

issued by the attorney general that has not been suspended or revoked. (Authorized by K.S.A. 

2013 Supp. 50-6,124; implementing K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 50-6,122 and 50-6,124; effective, T-16-

6-28-13, July 1,2013; effective P-______ .) 
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16-8-2. Initial application. Each person seeking an initial registration certificate shall submit an 

application that includes the following: 

(a) An initial application form provided by the attorney general and fully completed by 

the applicant; 

(b )( 1) If the applicant is a natural person, a copy of a current state or federal government-

issued photographic identification that demonstrates that the applicant is at least 18 years old; or 

(2) if the applicant is a business entity, a copy of a current state or federal government-

issued photograph identification for each designated agent who will act as a roofing contractor 

for the entity that demonstrates that each designated agent is at least 18 years old; 

( c) a copy of the applicant's current and valid certificate of liability insurance in an 

amount of at least $500,000 from an insurance company authorized by the Kansas insurance 

department to do business in Kansas or a nonadmitted insurer eligible to write excess coverage 

on Kansas risks as permitted by Kansas law; 

(d) a copy of the applicant's current and valid certificate of workers' compensation 

insurance under the Kansas workers' compensation act, an affidavit of exemption, or a copy of a 

valid self-insurance permit issued by the Kansas department of labor; 

(e) a current and valid tax clearance certificate from the Kansas department of revenue; 
, 

(f) if the applicant is a nomesident contractor, a current and valid appointment of the 

Kansas secretary of state as legal agent for service of process; 

(g) payment of the initial registration certificate fee specified K.A.R. 16-8-6; and 
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(h) if the applicant holds or has held a registration, certificate, pennit, or license as a 

roofing contractor issued by any other state, current and certified documentation from the 

appropriate state agency in each such state showing whether the applicant is in good standing, 

has pending disciplinary proceedings, or has had disciplinary action taken against the 

registration, certificate, pennit, or license. (Authorized by K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 50-6,124; 

implementing K.S.A. 2013 50-6,125; effective, T-16-6-28-13, July 1,2013; effective P-__ _ 

--.) 
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16-8-3. Renewal application. Each person seeking renewal of a registration certificate shall 

submit a renewal application that includes the following: 

(a) A renewal form provided by the attorney general and fully completed by the 

applicant; 

(b) a copy of the applicant's current and valid certificate of liability insurance in an 

amount of at least $500,000 from an insurance company authorized by the Kansas insurance 

department to do business in Kansas or a nonadmitted insurer eligible to write excess coverage 

on Kansas risks as permitted by Kansas law; 

( c) a copy of the applicant's current and valid certificate of workers' compensation 

insurance under the Kansas workers' compensation act, an affidavit of exemption, or a copy of a 

valid self-insurance permit issued by the Kansas department of labor; 

(d) a current and valid tax clearance certificate from the Kansas department of revenue; 

(e) payment of the applicablefee or fees specified in K.A.R. 16-8-6; and 

(f) if the applicant holds or has held a registration, certificate, permit, or license as a 

roofing contractor issued by any other state, current and certified documentation from the 

appropriate state agency in each such state showing whether applicant is in good standing, has 

pending disciplinary proceedings, or has had disciplinary action taken against the registration, 

certificate, permit, or license. (Authorized by K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 50-6,124; implementing K.S.A. 

2013 Supp. 50-6,132; effective, T-16-6-28-13, July 1,2013; effective P- .) 
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16-8-4. Suspension, revocation, and reinstatement. (a) Any registration certificate may be 

revoked or suspended by the attorney general upon finding that the registered roofing contractor 

has violated any provision of the act or this article. 

(b) Each roofing contractor seeking to reinstate a revoked registration certificate shall 

submit a reinstatement application that includes the following: 

(1) A reinstatement application form provided by the attorney general and fully 

completed by the applicant; 

(2) a copy of the applicant's current and valid certificate of liability insurance in an 

amount of at least $500,000 from an insurance company authorized by the Kansas insurance 

department to do business in Kansas or a nonadmitted insurer eligible to write excess coverage 

on Kansas risks as permitted by Kansas law; 

(3) a copy of the applicant's current and valid certificate of workers' compensation 

insurance under the Kansas workers' compensation act, an affidavit of exemption, or a copy of a 

current and valid self-insurance permit issued by the Kansas department of labor; 

(4) a current and valid tax clearance certificate from the Kansas department of revenue; 

(5) payment of the reinstatement fee specified in K.A.R. 16-8-6; and 

(6) if the applicant holds or has held a registration, certificate, permit, or license as a 

roofing contractor issued by any other state, current and certified documentation from the 

appropriate state agency in each such state showing whether applicant is in good standing, has 

pending disciplinary proceedings, or has had disciplinary action taken against the registration, 

certificate, permit, or license. 
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( c) A reinstatement application shall not be submitted until all terms and conditions 

specified in the revocation order have been fulfilled. 

(d) A roofing contractor shall not be required to apply for annual renewal while that 

roofing contractor's registration certificate is suspended. 

(1) If the suspension is lifted in the same fiscal year as that in which the suspension was 

ordered, the roofing contractor shall pay the renewal fee for a suspended registration certificate 

specified in K.A.R. 16-8-6 at the time of the next renewal. 

(2) If the suspension was ordered in a previous fiscal year, the suspension shall not be 

lifted until the roofing contractor submits an application for renewal in accordance with K.A.R. 

16-8-3, accompanied by payment of the renewal fee for a suspended registration certificate 

specified in K.A.R. 16-8-6, and the attorney general approves the application. (Authorized by 

K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 50-6,124; implementing K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 50-6,132 and 50-6133; effective, 

T-16-6-28-13, July 1,2013; effective P-______ .) 
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16-8-5. Incomplete applications. (a) If an incomplete application for an initial registration 

certificate or for renewal or reinstatement of a registration certificate is submitted to the attorney 

general, the applicant may be notified by the attorney general that the application will be held in 

abeyance for 30 days. If the applicant fails to provide all missing information, documents, and 

fees within 30 days of this notification, the application shall be deemed abandoned, and all fees 

accompanying the application shall be retained by the attorney general and shall not be refunded 

to the applicant. 

(b) The time1ine specified in the act for issuance of a registration certificate shall not 

begin until the date on which a complete application is received in the office of the attorney 

general. (Authorized by K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 50-6,124; implementing K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 50~ 

6,125, 50-6,130, and 50-6,132; effective, T-16-6-28-13, July 1,2013; effective P-__ _ 

--.) 
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16-8-6. Fees. (a) Each applicant shall pay the following fee or fees, as applicable: 

(1) Initial registration certificate 

(2) Renewal of a registration certificate 

(3) Renewal of a suspended registration certificate 

( 4) Reinstatement of a revoked registration certificate 

(5) Late renewal fee 

(6) Change of name or address 

$ 250 

$ 250 

$ 500 

$ 750 

$ 250 

$ 25 

(b) The renewal fee for a suspended registration certificate shall be paid at the time 

specified in K.A.R. 16-8-4. 

( c) If a person submits a complete application for an initial registration certificate to the 

attorney general on or after January 1 and the attorney general issues the registration certificate 

on or before April 30 of that year, the applicant shall pay a prorated initial registration certificate 

fee of$125 instead of the initial registration certificate fee specified in subsection (a). 

(Authorized by K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 50-6,124; implementing K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 50-6,128, 50-

6,130, 50-6,131, and 50-6,132; effective, T-16-6-28-13, July 1,2013; effective P-__ _ 

--.) 
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16-8-7. Status of registration. (a) If a registered roofing contractor ceases to be active as a 

roofing contractor, the roofing contractor shall notify the office of the attorney general within 10 

days, and the roofing contractor's registration certificate shall be suspended by the attorney 

general pursuant to I(.S.A. 2013 Supp. 50-6,131, and amendments thereto. This suspension shall 

not constitute a suspension for cause requiring payment of additional renewal fees. The 

suspended registration certificate shall be classified as "inactive." The roofing contractor shall 

not engage in business as a roofing contractor while that person's registration certificate is 

inactive. Any registration certificate may be returned to active status as follows: 

(1) In the same fiscal year as that in which the registration certificate was initially 

classified as inactive, if the roofing contractor notifies the office of the attorney general at least 

10 days before resuming business as a roofing contractor; or 

(2) in a subsequent fiscal year, if the roofing contractor submits a complete renewal 

application to the office of the attorney general as specified in I(.A.R. 16-8-3. However, the 

certificate shall not be deemed active until the renewal application is approved by the attorney 

general. 

(b) If a roofing contractor's registration certificate is lost or stolen, the roofing contractor 

shall notify the office of the attorney general within 10 days after discovery of the fact. 

(c) Each change in ownership of at least 50 percent of a business entity shall constitute a 

change in the legal status of the business requiring a new registration certificate pursuant to the 

act. 
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(d) If a registration certificate has been issued to a business entity for use by a group of 

designated roofing contractors and any designated roofing contractor in that group ceases to be 

an agent or employee of the entity, the entity shall notify the office of the attorney general within 

10 days. 

( e) Any business entity may designate new employees to act as roofing contractors under 

the entity's existing registration certificate by submitting an addendum to the entity's 

application, on a fonn provided by the attorney general, to the attorney general. (Authorized by 

K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 50-6,124; implementing K.S.A. 2013 Supp. 50-6,127 and 50-6,131; effective, 

T-16-6-28-13, July 1,2013; effective P-______ .) 
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