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Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt (OAG) understands that the COVID-19 

pandemic has affected many Kansans in a multitude of ways. One way some Kansans are 

being affected is with their inability to meet the ordinary renewal requirements for their 

concealed carry handgun licenses (hereinafter “CCHL”). Many licensees that were already 

approved for renewal are unable to have their CCHL plastic card renewed because of 

Kansas department of revenue (KDOR) closures. 

 

Using a variety of available administrative laws, the OAG is implementing several 

modifications and accommodations to the CCHL renewal process in order to help those 

CCHL holders who are facing the hurdles outlined above. Subject to conditions and 

limitations noted herein, until October 1, 2020 (or until otherwise modified by the OAG), 

the OAG is offering the following, temporary accommodations: 

 

A. Forgoing collection of late fees which may have ordinarily been required of an 

applicant when filing their renewal application after its expiration date. 

 

B. Offering a modified renewal application form which will allow the applicant to 

provide an unsworn declaration - rather than a notarized statement - of their 

continuing eligibility for a CCHL.  

 

Expanding Out: 

 

A. Conditions and limitations of the late fee waiver include: 

 

1. This waiver will apply to all “late” applications even if the CCHL being renewed 

expired prior to March 12, 2020 (when the state of disaster emergency was first 

declared by Governor Kelly).  



 

2. This waiver will allow those whose CCHL would have permanently expired on or 

between March 12, 2020 and September 30, 2020 to submit a renewal application 

(rather than having to start the application process all over as is ordinarily 

required) and avoid the late renewal fee. 

 

3. This waiver will NOT apply, however, to those whose CCHLs  “permanently 

expired” before March 12, 2020 or on or after October 1, 2020.  

 

4. Those who have already provided the late application fee of $40 will not be 

provided with a refund of the $15 late fee. 

 

B. The modified renewal application form can be found at 

www.ag.ks.gov/concealed-carry/renewals. The modified renewal application 

includes an unsworn statement in Section I, rather than a notarized 

statement, as is allowed by K.S.A. 53-601. Please read and complete 

Sections II and III prior to completing Section I. 
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