2019 News Releases

AG Derek Schmidt recognized as nation’s Outstanding Attorney General

Release Date: Dec 11, 2019
AG Schmidt accepts Outstanding AG Award from Mont. AG Fox.

WASHINGTON, D.C. – (December 11, 2019) – Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt has been recognized as the nation’s Outstanding Attorney General for 2019.

Schmidt yesterday was presented with the prestigious Kelley-Wy

man Award by the nation's state and territory attorneys general. The award, which is the top honor bestowed by the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG), honors a state or territory attorney general for his or her professional contributions to the office and the role of attorneys general nationwide. 

The award was presented to Schmidt yesterday at a dinner in Washington, D.C., during the annual meeting of the national association. The group recognized Schmidt's leadership both in Kansas and nationally in combating elder abuse and human trafficking, strengthening the professionalism of the office of attorney general, and promoting civil discourse and bipartisan cooperation.

“I am greatly honored to receive this recognition from my colleagues nationwide,” Schmidt said. “And of course, I am honored every day to be able to serve the citizens of Kansas.”

Schmidt was nominated for the award by Idaho Attorney General Lawrence Wasden and Iowa Attorney General Tom Miller.

“Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt has served the people of Kansas, as well as the NAAG community, well over the course of his tenure,” the two attorneys general wrote in their nomination letter. “His leadership to our organization and his dedication to protecting vulnerable citizens make him a deserving recipient of the Kelley-Wyman Award.”

Schmidt served as president of the national association during its 2017-2018 term, focusing particularly on efforts to combat elder abuse. Schmidt is the second-longest serving attorney general in Kansas history. He was first elected Kansas attorney general in 2010 and reelected in 2014 and 2018. In 2018, he received more votes than any other candidate for attorney general in Kansas history. 

The award is named for former Michigan Attorney General Frank Kelley and former New Hampshire Attorney General Louis Wyman. The annual recipient is sometimes informally referred to as the attorney general of the year. Schmidt is the second Kansas attorney general to receive the award, following Carla Stovall, who was honored in 2001.

Photo Caption: Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt accepts the Kelley-Wyman Outstanding Attorney General Award from Montana Attorney General Tim Fox, incoming president of the National Association of Attorneys General.

Media & Resources


Search News Releases

NOTE: This will perform a Google search and display the results in a new tab/window.

News Release Archive

News releases issued prior to 2011 are available through an archive hosted by the Kansas State Library.