2021 News Releases

AG Derek Schmidt commends Senate confirmation of Dickinson to Crime Victims Compensation Board

Release Date: Apr 06, 2021

TOPEKA – (April 6, 2021) – The Kansas Senate today unanimously confirmed the appointment of Becky Dickinson to be a member of the Crime Victims Compensation Board (CVCB), Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt said.

“Today’s action will allow Becky to begin serving in her role on the board,” Schmidt said. “Her experience in working with victims of sexual and domestic violence will be a great asset to the board. I thank Becky for her willingness to serve.”

Schmidt appointed Dickinson to a term on the CVCB ending March 15, 2025. Dickinson, a Topeka resident who is a graduate of Washburn University, serves on the Community Coalition Against Domestic Violence and on the local Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner/Sexual Assault Response Team committee. She began her work with victim services in 1998 at the YWCA Center for Safety and Empowerment in Topeka.

The state’s three-member Crime Victims Compensation Board determines claims by victims of violent crime who are eligible for financial assistance through the Crime Victims Compensation program. The program was established in 1978 to help crime victims pay for their unexpected expenses such as medical treatment, mental health counseling, lost wages, dependent support and funeral expenses. It is funded by a portion of assessed court costs and fines, inmate wages, parole fees and restitution paid by convicted offenders as well as by federal funds.

The board is supported by staff in the Division of Crime Victims Compensation in Schmidt’s office. For more information about the Crime Victims Compensation program call (785) 296-2359 or visit the attorney general’s website at www.ag.ks.gov/cvcb.

Media & Resources


Search News Releases

NOTE: This will perform a Google search and display the results in a new tab/window.

News Release Archive

News releases issued prior to 2011 are available through an archive hosted by the Kansas State Library.