2021 News Releases

AG Derek Schmidt describes changes in concealed carry law taking effect July 1

Release Date: Jul 01, 2021

TOPEKA – (July 1, 2021) – Several changes in the Kansas concealed carry law took effect today (July 1), including a reduction in application fees, Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt said.

Among the changes approved during the 2021 Kansas legislative session, a new provisional license will be available for individuals between 18-20 years of age. New provisions also allow issuance of a concealed carry license to individuals who have had certain prior felony or misdemeanor convictions expunged.

Under the terms of the budget passed by the Legislature for state fiscal year 2022, the application fee will be lowered from $132.50 to $112. The reduced rate applies to applications received by sheriff’s offices between July 1, 2021, and June 30, 2022. Applicants should submit their applications with one check for $79.50 payable to the Office of the Attorney General and another check for $32.50 payable to the sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence.

The cost for license renewals remains unchanged at $25.

More information regarding these and other regulations can be found at https://ag.ks.gov/licensing/concealed-carry.

Media & Resources

Menu

Search News Releases

NOTE: This will perform a Google search and display the results in a new tab/window.

News Release Archive

News releases issued prior to 2011 are available through an archive hosted by the Kansas State Library.