TOPEKA – (August 5, 2021) – The number of Kansans applying for new concealed carry licenses increased in the recently ended 2020 fiscal year, Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt said today.
Between July 1, 2020, and June 30, 2021, the attorney general’s Concealed Carry Licensing Unit received 7,717 new applications. This was more than double the number of applications received in the previous fiscal year. The licensing program began in 2006, and a legislative change in 2015 allows eligible Kansans to carry concealed without a license.
In addition, most Kansans who already have licenses are choosing to keep their licenses active. The Concealed Carry Licensing Unit received 19,016 renewal applications during the 2020 fiscal year.
Licenses are still required in most states, and Kansas licenses are currently recognized in 40 states.
“Many Kansans continue to recognize the benefits of obtaining a license, including our reciprocity agreements with other states,” Schmidt said. “We continue to work with other states to ensure Kansas licenses are recognized.”
The 2021 Kansas Legislature adopted a reduction in the application fee for concealed carry licenses for the 2022 fiscal year. The application fee for new applicants was lowered to $112 from $132.50. The cost for license renewals remains unchanged at $25.
Legislators also authorized a new provisional license available for individuals between 18-20 years of age. New provisions also allow issuance of a concealed carry license to individuals who have had certain prior felony or misdemeanor convictions expunged.
Schmidt also encouraged all Kansans who intend to carry firearms to pursue training opportunities. He reminded all Kansans who choose to carry firearms to comply with properly posted signage and all applicable law.
Currently, more than 81,000 Kansans have active concealed carry licenses. More information on the concealed carry licensing program is available on the attorney general’s website at www.ag.ks.gov/concealed-carry.