Open Government Training Advisory Group

The Open Government Training Advisory Committee was established by Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt in 2016, in response to a new state law passed in 2015. That law (K.S.A. 75-761) charges the attorney general’s office with coordinating statewide training on the Kansas Open Records Act and Kansas Open Meetings Act. The law also allows the attorney general to “consult and coordinate with any appropriate organization to provide training.”


Upcoming Meetings

Open Government Training Advisory Group Members

Office of the Attorney General

Athena Andaya - Chair
Deputy Attorney General
Topeka, KS

Cheryl Whelan
Assistant Attorney General, Director of Open Government Training and Compliance
Topeka, KS

Lisa Mendoza
Assistant Attorney General, Director of Open Government Enforcement
Topeka, KS

Kansas Association of Broadcasters

Kim Wilhelm
News Director, KWCH12
Wichita, KS

Kansas Press Association

Sarah Kessinger
Publisher, Marysville Advocate
Marysville, KS

Kansas Association of Counties

Bill Kassebaum
Morris County Counselor
Council Grove, KS

League of Kansas Municipalities

Nicole Proulx Aiken
City Attorney, City of Merriam
Merriam, KS

Kansas Association of School Boards

Tracey Hannah, U.S.D. #458 Board Member
Basehor, KS

Kansas County and District Attorneys Association

Darrin Devinney
Butler County Attorney
El Dorado, KS

Shawn Minihan
Assistant District Attorney
Johnson County District Attorney’s Office
Olathe, KS

Kansas Department of Administration

Philip Michael
Attorney, Office of the Chief Counsel
Kansas Department of Administration
Topeka, KS


Darin Beck
Director, Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center
Hutchinson, KS

Ron Keefover
President, Kansas Sunshine Coalition for Open Government
Topeka, KS

Sharon Wolters
Smith County Clerk
Smith Center, KS

About the Office


Related Links