Beginning July 1, 2020, 2019 House Bill 2248 requires scrap metal dealers doing business in Kansas to register with the attorney general's office, with the following changes.
- The responsibility to establish and maintain a database collecting information on the sale of regulated scrap metal was transferred to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation.
- The previous requirement that a person filing a scrap metal dealer registration be subject to a criminal history records check or fingerprinting was repealed.
- The maximum registration fee set by statute was reduced to $500 per location. The attorney general has proposed regulations to further reduce the fee to $350 per location.
The attorney general is also authorized to enforce violations of the Scrap Metal Theft Reduction Act, which are subject to a civil penalty of not less than $100 nor more than $5,000, for each failure of a scrap metal dealer, employee, or agent:
- to register with the attorney general's office;
- to obtain a copy of an identification card or document containing such identifying number from any person selling regulated scrap metal;
- to photograph the item or lot of items being sold at the time of purchase or receipt of any item for which such information is required to be presented and to maintain such record;
- to upload certain information to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation database; and
- to comply with the provisions of K.S.A. 2019 Supp. 50-6,111.
To report a Scrap Metal Dealer you believe may have violated one of these provisions, please click here to file an online report, or call (800) 432-2310.
Once dealers have completed registration with the attorney general's office, they will be provided instructions for accessing the Kansas Bureau of Investigation's online reporting system to upload transaction data as required by law.