2020 News Releases

AG Derek Schmidt announces creation of Dorthy Halley Lifetime Service Award as Crime Victims’ Rights Week concludes

Release Date: Apr 24, 2020

TOPEKA — (April 24, 2020) — Dorthy Stucky Halley, who is retiring this year after 12 years of service as director of the attorney general’s Victims Services Division and the state’s victim rights coordinator, has been recognized with the new Lifetime Service Award for her service to crime victims, Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt announced today.

The award will be reserved as a special recognition for a dedicated professional who creates significant positive impact in the lives of crime victims throughout a career. Schmidt said the award will be named in honor of Halley as its first recipient.

“Dorthy has dedicated her life to serving victims of violent crime, and her positive impact on our state and the many people she has helped along the way is immeasurable,” Schmidt said. “It is our hope that this award will serve as a small but memorable token of the state’s appreciation and gratitude for Dorthy’s lifetime of service.”

Halley has worked in the field of domestic violence prevention since 1986. Her research has created a new understanding for advocates, law enforcement, prosecutors, judges and others in the domestic violence field. Her work in the human trafficking field led to the development and formation in 2010 of the Kansas Human Trafficking Advisory Board (HTAB), of which she serves as co-chair. Halley was the executive director of Safehouse, Inc., in Pittsburg for more than a decade, and has provided expert witness testimony in domestic violence cases since 1989. She is the co-founder of the Family Peace Initiative, a facilitator of batterer intervention training services.

Before joining the attorney general’s office, Halley was the practicum director and assistant professor at Pittsburg State University in the Social Work Program from 1997 to 2007. She is the past president of the Kansas Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers, the Kansas Coalition Against Sexual and Domestic Violence and the Kansas Organization for Victim Assistance. She also serves as a consultant for the Kansas Domestic Violence Fatality Review Board.

In addition to the Lifetime Service Award, the attorney general this week presented the five awards made each year to recognize agencies, organizations and individuals who provide exemplary service to victims of crime in Kansas. Those awards and recipients are:

  • Outstanding Criminal Justice Victim Service Award for Law Enforcement – Sergeant Eric Buller of the Hutchinson Police Department
  • Community Champion – Julie Cooper, Diana Blanton, Theresa McFarland and Anna Basler of Lyon County District Court
  • Outstanding Victim Service Response – Topeka/Shawnee County Anti-trafficking Coalition and the Topeka Rotary Clubs
  • Outstanding System-Based Victim Advocate – Darcy Wilford of the Labette County Attorney’s Office
  • Outstanding Community-Based Victim AdvocateShannon Reid of the Willow Domestic Violence Center

The annual recognition of those who provide outstanding service to victims of crime was scheduled to take place at the 23rd Annual Crime Victims’ Rights Conference hosted by the governor and attorney general. The conference was to take place April 1-2 in Wichita, but was canceled because of the COVID-19 outbreak. In lieu of the typical in-person presentations, the recipients were notified this week by the attorney general’s office to coincide with the annual Crime Victims’ Rights Week.

Media & Resources


Search News Releases

NOTE: This will perform a Google search and display the results in a new tab/window.

News Release Archive

News releases issued prior to 2011 are available through an archive hosted by the Kansas State Library.